Commonwealth Day

Commonwealth Day is celebrated on the second Monday in March every year. The aim of commemorating Commonwealth Day is to promote understanding on global issues, international cooperation and the work of the Commonwealth to improve the lives of its 1.8 billion citizens.

The modern Commonwealth, which has its origins in the former British Empire, today comprises 53 independent member states. Thirty-two members are republics, 16 have constitutional monarchies which recognise HM Queen Elizabeth II as their Head of State, and five have national monarchies (Brunei Darussalam, Lesotho, Malaysia, Swaziland and Tonga).